Agenda and minutes

Electoral Provisions Sub-Committee - Thursday 8 July 2021 7.00 pm

No. Item


Apologies For Absence


Apologies for absence were received from Councillor R Gosine.


Declarations of Interest

To receive declarations of Interest from Members including the term(s) of the Grant of Dispensation (if any) by the Audit Board or Strategic Director (Internal Services).


There were no declarations of interest received.


Confirmation of the Minutes of the meeting held on 5 November 2020 pdf icon PDF 129 KB


The minutes of the Meeting of the Sub – committee held on 5 November 2020 were confirmed as a correct record.


References From Other Committees


It was reported that there were no matters referred to the Sub - committee for consideration.


Urgent Items

The Chairman will announce whether there are any urgent items and their position on the Agenda.


It was noted that there were no urgent matters for the Sub - committee to consider.


Review Of Parliamentary Constituencies 2023 pdf icon PDF 279 KB

This item was not available for circulation with the Agenda and will therefore be distributed under a separate cover.



Additional documents:


The Sub - committee were informed that Boundary Commission for England has published initial proposals for changes to parliamentary constituencies which includes amendments to the boundaries of the Dartford and Sevenoaks Constituency boundaries.


It was reported that the recommended size for each constituency is no smaller than 69,724 and no larger than 77,062 and that the Parliamentary electorate for Dartford already exceeds this figure, and thus the Parliamentary boundary cannot remain conterminous with the Borough boundaries.


It was noted that the current Dartford Parliamentary Constituency contains Hodsoll Street and Ridley wards and Hartley North and South wards which form part of the Sevenoaks District area.


The Boundary Commission proposed amendment is that the Dartford Borough Wards of Darenth and Wilmington, Sutton-at-Hone and Hawley would transfer to the Sevenoaks Constituency and the previous Sevenoaks areas are retained by them.


Members also noted that this proposal would have no effect on local elections and these wards remain within the Borough of Dartford.


Having considered the proposals provided by the Boundary Commission Members expressed concern that proposals ignored the historical and physical links which exist between the areas and the Borough as a whole.  Additionally other more suitable areas for transfer existed.


Members commented that the proposal to extend the Sevenoaks Constituency to Dartford Town Centre could not be supported and that it would be preferable if the Boundary Commission considered splitting the Wilmington, Sutton at Hone and Hawley Ward which already had two identifiable areas.


Transferring the Ebbsfleet Ward to Gravesham was also discussed however Members felt that this would cause a domino effect on other constituencies in Kent, whereas splitting the Wilmington, Sutton at Hone and Hawley ward kept all the constituencies within the Review’s electoral ratio.


The Sub - Committee noted that the General Assembly of the Council was to draft a formal response to the proposals and therefore


RESOLVED to recommend to the GAC


1.    That the proposals made by the Boundary Commission not be supported in full; and


2.    That consideration of splitting Wilmington Sutton at Hone and Hawley ward should be considered so that the polling districts WSH1 and WSH2 only be transfered to the Sevenoaks parliamentary constituency.